Student Council

The Council is the governing body of the James Cook University Student Association. The Council is comprised by elected students, Students Association Executives and appointed University and community representatives and is chaired by the President. The Council's role is to oversee the strategic direction of the Association and to carry out the duties laid out by the Constitution.

Council meets on a monthly basis to discuss issues surrounding the operation of our commercial outlets, campaigns and topical concerns of students studying at JCU. The Council has an office on the Cairns campus as well as the Townsville campus.

For meeting times of the Council please contact the Council Secretary, Theresa Priddle.

Contact Details

Thomas Sherrington
[email protected] 
Townsville Campus Officer
Brooke Shannon
[email protected]
International Officer
Tien Thanh Ta
 [email protected]
Equity and Diversity
 Manisha Udani Kulasinghe
 [email protected]
First Nations Officer
Roderick Mabo

[email protected]

Vice President 
Dillon Weightman
[email protected]
Cairns Campus Officer
Garrett Swearingen
[email protected]
Postgraduate Officer 
Amie Lauren Hewlett-Parker
 [email protected]
Sport and Recreation Officer
Open Position 
Environmental Officer
Open Position

More links in this section


The James Cook University Student Association works closely with the James Cook University. Please visit to find out more.